It was more than just a fling


Of course in an ideal dating life, I would want him to be the ‘real deal’. My knight in shiny armour; my Prince Charming. But nothing starts of easy when you’re getting to know someone especially when you’re trying to get back on track.

When I first met him (the now boyfriend), he was charming. The way he smiles, behaves, speaks and etc, made me giddy up till a point that I was so smitten, I would secretly stalked his social media (almost up to a certain amount of time a day *cough) just to get a glimpse of who I’m dealing with.

Fast forwarding to now. Whereby we’re currently still dating; when initially what I thought might just end up being a fling ended up being more than that.

Why?

Because he cares, immensely. 

At the very beginning of the relationship, I kept having doubts if he would stay due to the fact that he doesn’t seemed to be impressed by me anymore after we got official. I was pretty shy to speak my mind, afraid that I’ll be offending him or sounding silly hence I kept quiet most of the time and let him do the talking. That would then quickly escalate to a stage whereby he would run out of topic and conversations were dry. I would look at him and smile pretending to say something but honestly, my mind was fry.

He still tries, and he’ll let you know he’s trying

Of course we’ll bicker and argue like any other couple. Jealousy, mood-swings and etc fuels the anger but he tries.

He calms me

By rationalizing with me. Patiently, he dealt with my demands. He would admit his mistakes if he was wrong and let ego slide if that’s what it takes to make us right.
I was upset! So upset till a point that I thought I wouldn’t be able to live through this and giving up was my next option. I would not change the little things he wanted me to change because I stand my ground! I am not going to change for anyone but compromise, mum said and with that,

He changed.

I’ve learned that he’s willing to change if I’m willing to compromise. I’ve learned that he’s willing to change if I’m willing to just give us a chance. To improve on us, to work on this relationship.

Over the period of time being together, the thought of this relationship being a fling worn off and it blossomed.

It took a while for me to understand him but what can I say, I think I found my fling that I might just wanna keep. *wink

Reason behind that smile, him

I hope you’ve found yours to keep!

XOXO




Leave a comment